Another cold winters night

I think of summer and apart from long days out on the hills, I’m also reminded of the bugs, sunburns, thirst and a general feeling of just being cooked alive. Winter I much prefer. I can better gauge how warm or cool I wish to be. Furthermore, the cool clear air brings out the best in our hills.

And this winter has been a cracker for me with backpacking and I’m quite sad to think it’s soon to come to an end. Anyway, I don’t really have much to say on this post except I’m bloody knackered!

I’ve just got back and still recovering from a 2 night wild camp in the Peak District. On the whole the weather was mixed (more of the good) but my golly it got cold at times.

I met my friend Geoff on my second day who was going to show myself and some other friends a stone circle. It’s little visited but in a fantastic location with fine views all around.

We made our camp near the circle and learnt from Geoff that it was about 4500 years old and typical of what can be found in the Peaks. Sure, enough it could be a tricky place to find but it is somewhat bewildering that such places as this are not visited more often.

This special area is a little exposed but we enjoyed a fine sunset with good food (well, for camping…..though I had a mushroom risotto), good conversation and a little booze. It made for a very relaxing and enjoyable evening. However, come 9.30pm the clear skies and cold air was starting to chill us to our bones and we tried to think of a fun way to keep warm. Aye, it’s daft but we came up with our way of warming up ready for bed.

After sleeping through the night in temps as low as -9 we awoke to a cracker of a day. It only whetted my appetite for a first time walk along Stanage Edge on our way home.

Anyway, I’m not going to waffle anymore….all I can say is that my wild camps of late have been more social events with like-minded folk than peace, solitude et al. It’s a pleasure to share the hills with others but my next one I’m going to do solo.

I need to get away from the rough rabble that like to tag along!!

Only kidding guys! 😉

Oh, and for those who will find it of interest, check out Geoff’s website here:

PECSAETAN –   A website dedicated to the ancient monuments of Derbyshire and South Yorkshire

And some pictures from my trip below:

Peak District Wild Camp March 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Dave Evans says:

    It's the Circles……..they make Twigs go bonkers lol.

    Like

  2. Phil says:

    Class, pure class, Twigs is a diamond!!!

    Like

  3. GeoffC says:

    Sunday night was a brass monkey job that's for sure, but what fantastic days from Sunday to Tuesday!. Incredible clarity and views.
    The only thing I look forward to in summer is the lightest possible pack weight, everything else is pretty much a downer.

    Like

  4. terrybnd says:

    I agree with you there Geoff.
    Superb winter weather (bar the snow) and the air gin clear.

    It was a joy to walk in but a bit of a downer as we were heading home.

    And I definetly concur with regards to summer….lovely light packs!

    Like

  5. Pete Crawford says:

    There is something about the music of Twiglegs that does not sit well with Italian Fascist architecture. Perhaps I am being oversensitive but his super-sized friezes tend to conflict with Holy Minimalism in its most refined flights and Twigger's own grandeur and impressive spaciousness cannot illuminate the Aula Magna at La Sapienza in Rome.

    Apart from that it was very funny. You obviously had fun. The whole point really.

    Like

  6. terrybnd says:

    Couldn't have put it better myself, Peter LOL

    Like

  7. Sue says:

    great, I fell in live in your photos

    Like

Leave a Reply

