A walk in the park

That’s it – no more bank holidays until Christmas. Depressing, eh? All said and done, I made sure this one would live long in the memory.

So, I took my video camera out with me and recorded some scenes from my weekends camping trip – in the company of my wife. We chose to explore the ever delightful Peak District National Park being as it’s down the road from us and I have to say the British weather didn’t disappoint – tongue firmly in cheek.

We endured heavy rain, 35 mph winds (recorded that on my Kestrel 3000) along with blue skies and sunshine – and that was at valley level! You really couldn’t make it up. Not ideal but it tested the gear, my patience and lots more besides.

So, what to expect from the next video?

Well, I’m keeping this one simple really – some scenic footage from walks I did at the weekend accompanied by some music. I’ll input some subtitles for information noting points of interest and so forth.

Here’s some stills from the video I recorded:

I think the above selection of images gives a fair impression of how I’ve endeavoured to capture striking images on video from my trip. And perhaps some intrigue?
The final image being of a little-visited and historic cave – another of Britain’s Second Highest Pub – and one featuring a World War Two observation post up high on a limestone plateau!
And with that final paragraph, I shall sign off and begin editing the video – and rest my weary legs – and put the finishing touches to my new look blog (of which I’ll publish in the next few weeks)….
8 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks like we were just a few miles away from each other yesterday Terry. Definately a right old mixed bag with regards to the weather. Look forward to seeing your video. Especially good old Parkhouse and Chrome hill. Did you go to Earl Sterndale, a great pub with a campsite round the back.

    Like

  2. terrybnd says:

    Hi James,

    We camped somewhere a little closer – on a farm 😉

    That place is a secret 😉

    Like

  3. Moonlight Shadow says:

    Is the farm a great big hall right by the hills? I noticed a few tents when walking there but no mention of a camp site on my OS map…

    Like

  4. terrybnd says:

    Shhhhhh….. 😉

    Like

  5. johndigital says:

    site is looking great, great photos as usual.

    Like

  6. terrybnd says:

    Thanks John. Much appreciated, mate.

    Like

  7. Anonymous says:

    Since when has the bank holiday entitlement ever swayed you on a decision to rush off into the hills, mate? LOL
    looks all good to me.
    Dave N.

    Like

  8. Don Dawber says:

    Really looking forward to the Peak District Video – and loving the new look of the blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

