A change of scenery

So, here we go! The new look blog – what do you think? I’ve still got some work to do on it (of which more later) but essentially we have the site up and running, now.

Any feedback would be much appreciated – technical issues, faults, speed concerns and so on. You can’t beat a real world test for such things.

Fixes and finishing touches won’t be completed until next week, though. I’m off to the Peak District again this weekend – lucky me – so some things will have to wait.

I hope everyone likes the new theme and layout. I’ve tried to keep things not too dissimilar to before.

The idea for the new look?

A more professional feel, clear content and natural navigation. The background image (see above) concerns a photo I took in the Howgill fells last year – we’re up in the clouds on the tops.

The black and white scheme is intended to not only keep things clear and perhaps formal – but to impress the feeling of joy we gain from the landscape – whereby the colours from the pictures in my blog posts leap out. The effect being similar to Dorothy waking up in Oz, if you like.

Anyway, I’m waffling – I’ll shoot off now and finish off the rest of my ideas, a new video and to pack my rucksack for this weekends trip!

Cheers

7 Comments Add yours

  1. BG! says:

    Looks better than the previous incarnation – I've a preference for dark-themes so I like the monochrome style. Great content too!

    Like

  2. Paddy says:

    Blog looks good, but you look twice as 'orrible. 🙂 Smart site mate. TD

    Like

  3. terrybnd says:

    Thanks. Glad to hear there are no techy issues. Some tweaks yet to come – but essentially all stuff under the bonnet is working which is key – especially with all the widgets.

    Thanks again for the feedback!

    Like

  4. Paul says:

    Think I found a tech. issue when I opened up this post your picture went bigger……hehehe was it not meant to go smaller so not to scare us away lol sorry Terry had to put something in there. 😉

    Like

  5. terrybnd says:

    Paul – the pic is of me keeping an eye on YOU! 😉

    Like

  6. GeoffC says:

    Looks great Terry, well done.

    Only one tech thing – and I'm not sure what is supposed to happen – but the 'Online' button at the bottom of the page which is annotated 'View real time stats…' gives a 404:-

    “The requested URL /wibiya/stats/0wibiya40067/ was not found on this server.”

    Like

  7. terrybnd says:

    Thanks Geoff. I'm back home now and doing some more tweaks in the code and some other bits and bobs I'm trying out – they may make it in.

    As for the “online” button – don't worry about that. It's a server issue with the company that hosts my sites stats – so all users tend to see is a fun map of the world showing where all the blogs visitors come from.

    Thanks again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

