Gore-Tex versus eVent

Having just got back from a wet and windy weekend’s wild camping in the Peak District – it dawned on me how good eVent fabric really is.

It astounds me why we don’t see more of this material from outdoors manufacturers. Granted, there’s lots of factors involved (of which I shall not go into on this post) – but the big selling point of eVent is the breathability.

Rain is kept at bay but your ‘sweat’ breathes out through the fabirc.

It’s worth noting that eVent does require more cleaning than Gore-Tex, for example – just to ensure it performs as it should and thus not fool the user into thinking there’s a leak. Nine times out of ten there isn’t – it’s just your sweat building up on the inside and so the fabric needs a good clean.

Some readers will be familiar with the merits of this ‘waterproof’ wonder – and others won’t.

If ever there was a perfect example of why companies such as Rab use eVent – here you go:

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Paul says:

    that video says it all mate thanks for sharing that info

    Like

  2. terrybnd says:

    Yep – actions speak louder than words, eh?

    Like

  3. Martin Rye says:

    My eVent Superfly is good but needs to be cleaned as it is wetting out and not that good at the moment. Then again it is cooler now so it is Paramo time. You ever used Paramo Terry?

    Like

  4. terrybnd says:

    Yeah – I got Paramo, Martin.

    It's my favourite, to be honest – but it's that old cliche for me, just too warm for any other time of year.

    This weekend I had a Rab Latok Alpine jacket with Paramo Casacada trousers.

    Made for a bloody good combo actually.

    The legs were warm and dry and I wasn't too hot or sweaty up top and thinking about it – my jacket could do with a tech wash, too!

    Like

  5. Terry – the only piece of gear I have with eVent are my Rab gaiters. Really good set of gaiters, and seem very breathable. I will be looking to wear Paramo when the weather cools down.
    Mark

    Like

  6. Anonymous says:

    I might just believe that vid if it wasn't a yank speiling it. !

    Like

  7. -maria- says:

    Thanks for sharing. You got me interested in trying eVent.

    Like

  8. granty_ says:

    I bought eVent exactly for the reason of breath-ability. I have a Rab coat. Will always buy Rab in future….maybe because I live near the factory shop πŸ˜‰

    Did you get any nice piccies this weekend?

    Like

  9. Jeff Gater says:

    Hi,

    just bought a Montane jacket on saturday made from eVent. Gave it a run out on sunday in some prolonged heavy rain for a couple of hours with no problems. Very breathable but the face fabric didn't wet out, so far so good.

    I have always used Goretex based jackets in the past which I have been generally happy with.
    The best Jacket I have ever had was a Burghaus Trango made from 3ply Goretex,a little heavy by todays standards but took some real winter punishment in the 6 or 7 years I used it.

    Lab tests are one thing but will it work in the field (or the mountains);-) now thats another.

    For me the jury is still out!!!
    πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. Moonlight Shadow says:

    I do have in mind to buy an Event jacket for milder weather use when accepting the limitations of my Paramo windproof Fueras is not an option (eg wildcamping). The only piece of Event kit I have are my gaiters and they do breathe very well, much better than the Goretex one I had before.

    Like

  11. terrybnd says:

    Yeah, eVent in my opinion is a better fabric. This post was meant as a bit of fun, mind.

    But the video does make a very obvious comparison between the two materials.

    eVent along with Paramo are my favourite waterproof garments. I tend to feel a helluva lot more comfortable and dry in them than anything I've ever used.

    Like

  12. Anonymous says:

    Say, what products do you use for washing and reproofing your event garments?
    I guess the more important washing is for the breathing performance of the garment, the more often one will wash it, and the more important it is what washing/reproofing products one uses?
    / Karl

    Like

  13. terrybnd says:

    Hi Karl,

    I use Grangers or Nikwax for cleaning or re-proofing my waterproof garments.

    Like

  14. The Odyssee says:

    Hi T
    Any chance of reloading the video?

    Like

  15. terrybnd says:

    Ah! Where that go? LOL No problem.

    I'll have a word with Rab and see if they have another.

    Like

Leave a Reply

