New Video & Dawn Of A New Era

Winter Peak Park sunrise

Some of you may be aware that the other week I was unfortunate enough to be made redundant by my employer – not ideal timing admittedly – and it’s something that I’ve found quite upsetting, if a little humiliating.

Since then I’ve taken stock of many things – finances, time with my family and of course where I want to go from here. What do I need to do? How do I adapt?

Last week I took myself off on a 4 day hike in the Peak District – not just to clear my mind but also to capture some video footage for future projects and commissions. And it’s with the latter in mind that I’ve now made the momentous decision (for me, anyway) to go full-time with the video making side of things.

After all, I’m combining two passions of mine in life – video and the great outdoors – and feel I’m speedily developing my skills more and more.

I enjoy spending nights out on the hill in all conditions (crazy really) seeking that perfect shot on video – and I enjoy filmmaking in general, Β meeting new people and places, learning local history and so on.

I’ve managed to capture some of the finest scenes you can imagine of the Peak District National Park in recent months – much of which won’t be made public for quite some time. Real top drawer stuff of which I’m immensely proud – if not mentally and physically drained.

After one excursion I was only too happy to throw and smash a wide angle lens I recently bought, followed by a few uncontrollable tears – it was at this point my wife stepped in and noted I was ‘burnt out’ and needed to take a break.

I’ve not felt like that before – it bemuses me, now. The thoughts and emotions I felt in those moments were uncontrollable – and this was a little disconcerting to me being a strong-minded and thick-skinned kind of guy. I’m not given to showing personal emotions (though in with the written word such as these I feel comfortable).

Nevertheless, I’ve carried on and come this far and will continue to do so with gusto!

So, here goes – the dawn of a new era – what does it entail?

A number of things, really. Many in fact – not only am I to continue producing promotional videos for businesses in the Peak District but elsewhere, too. Then there is the ‘epic’ Peak Park video through the seasons I’ve been working on – and also guides, and hopefully a DVD.

All will be revealed in good time – but you’ll see why I’ve been away a great deal and uploading screenshots from video footage. Heck, some of you readers have even met me out on the hill while I was stood around waiting with a camera fixed to a tripod or even sharing a wonderful pitch on some remote moor.

For now, any promotional videos I produce will be listed on the following webpage:

Peak District Videos

And to finish this blog post off – you can view the latest project just completed and fresh off my PC’s hard-drive. A video differing in style from the last one ‘Uppermoor Farmhouse and Holiday Cottages’Β – as you’ll see. It Β has more of my stamp of creating a mood for the local landscape and more – all within the realms of the client’s remit, of course.

Hope you enjoy it – over and out….

Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages

31 Comments Add yours

  1. Mac E says:

    Excellent Terry, you do a good job behind the camera, all the techniques that make the difference. It must have taken a massive amount of time to shoot all the footage never mind the editing.

    All the best with the new venture.

    Like

  2. terrybnd says:

    Thanks Mac – you're very kind.

    Like

  3. Great job Terry, the future looks bright indeed. Good luck.

    Like

  4. Redundancy can come as a real shock and brings all sorts of conflicting emotions. From the sound of it you have taken the opportunity to ensure that something good comes out of it. Embrace your passion, I have always thought that your videos are top notch. When they are out on Blu-ray I will be knocking at your door for a copy!

    Like

  5. Best of luck Terry! Exciting and frightening.

    Like

  6. John Davis says:

    Not only do you have the technical skills to produce great videos but you can also get people to act and talk naturally in front of the camera. The near future won't be easy but I believe you will make a major success of this. Best of luck!

    Like

  7. Paul says:

    the video is of a very fine quality and I for one follow your videos and can see they are getting too a very high standard indeed

    Like

  8. Wurz says:

    Good luck Terry.

    Like

  9. Anonymous says:

    I'm a keen follower of your work Terry, going back to the very first videos, i find it all very inspirational and always look forward to the next. I haven't made a comment before, but on reading the sad news of your redundantcy i felt that I needed to wish you the very best for the future. I'm sure you'll go a long way with the quality and commitment of your work. Keep up the fantastic work! Andy

    Like

  10. Ben says:

    Good luck terry. Another great video by the way.

    Like

  11. Phil says:

    Best of luck with it mate, stick at it because if anyone can make a success of it, you can.

    All the best to you and your family for Xmas mate, and hope to see you in the New Year.

    Like

  12. Paul Lydon says:

    If I hadn't been reading your blog I would have thought that video was done by a very experienced professional.
    Don't forget – people aren't made redundant, their jobs are.

    Like

  13. Martin Rye says:

    Following your heart is a life well lived. Good for you. All the best and go for it. Have a happy xmas and a fantastic new year. Lets do a wild camp as well. I fancy being a wild camp video star πŸ˜‰

    Like

  14. terrybnd says:

    Well, what can I say? – Thank you ALL very much. It's humbling and your kind words are much appreciated.

    Again, thanks and here's hoping (on my part) πŸ™‚

    @James Boulter – the footage I've collated looks glorious in HD. It's one thing I've been mindful of in recent months. HD. Get the focus wrong etc and it all goes wrong – I'd love to come up with some production to feature the sights I've seen (and persevered with).

    Like

  15. terrybnd says:

    @Martin – LOL There are shots I need with hikers in πŸ˜‰ Let me know when you're free and we'll arrange it.

    Like

  16. Gordon says:

    Great Vid Terry & good soundtrack. Keep up the good work

    Like

  17. Mike Knipe says:

    Good luck with this, Terry. Always look forwards…. and don't forget to write off expenses so that you carry a loss forwards to the next tax year! Video's and tents etc are very expensive items y'know….

    Like

  18. terrybnd says:

    @Gordon – Thanks. Much appreciated.

    @Mike – Thanks. Just getting to grips with all the tax stuff πŸ™‚ Didn't realise how much I could claim back! Even on meals and drinks!!

    Like

  19. Wurz says:

    Tax free Cockburn's & Taylor's? πŸ˜‰

    Like

  20. terrybnd says:

    @Wurz – LMAO πŸ˜‰ Am I that predictable?

    Like

  21. Good luck mate, onwards and upwards I say!! Redundancy turned out to be the best thing that ever happened to me so im sure it will work out for you too.

    Like

  22. toffy says:

    hi terry,belive you me the grass IS greener on the other side of the hill,keep a brave face on it ,i was also made redundent 6 years ago but the walking and the out doors help me think things through ,i have know got a job to die for on the canals ,looking at all the video`s youvre done with moonlightshadow and andy yer sure have got the talent to encourage guys to get out there and explore

    Like

  23. terrybnd says:

    @toffy – Thank you for your kind words and I'm truly humbled. I have an opportunity to go through with a dream job, now. The signs are good so far and that in itself I find humbling to say the least.

    Fingers crossed, cause there's some great projects in the pipeline – one of which will be a dream come true.

    Thanks again to everyone πŸ™‚ I mean that 100%

    Like

  24. Neil says:

    Hi Terry

    I should say “I'm sorry to hear you've been made redundant” but actually, I'm really pleased for you!!

    Over the last few months, I've got the impression that you really would have liked to give up the day job but, well, you know, a steady wage, comfortable cardy and slippers – It's just too good to give up voluntarily.

    Now though, your mind has been made up for you! Grasp the opportunity with both hands, speak to the bank manager, sort out the short term finances and then LIVE THE DREAM Terry!

    You clearly have the skills – Just make sure the business acumen is up to scratch and I promise you, you will never look back!

    I've been self employed for the last 5 years and I won't pretend that it's easy but is IS liberating to be able to decide to do what you want to do, when you want to do it . . . I could never go back to being employed now and I bet you won't too . . .

    Good luck Mate

    Neil

    Like

  25. terrybnd says:

    Thank you Neil – very kind πŸ™‚

    I shall grasp the opportunity with both hands, make no doubt. Hence, my decision to go for it.

    I wouldn't do it if I were not confident it would succeed.

    Though, I'm prepared for the worst too. But will give it a good shot.

    I have time now to really put some techniques and craft skills into practice without the pressure of time being used up and so on.

    Thanks!

    Like

  26. GeoffC says:

    Ah, pre-Xmas redundancies – it's true to form.
    As others have said, although it seems calamitous at first, I hope this turns into an opportunity for a better and more fulfilling direction.
    All the best with the project and for Xmas.

    Like

  27. terrybnd says:

    Thanks Geoff – much appreciated.

    Like

  28. Anonymous says:

    Hi Terry!…….like others, i believe you have been pushed into a life which is your vocation – earning money whilst doing what you love – all my very best wishes my old mate. Have a relaxing and happy festive season…and then come out fighting! Dave N.
    PS: When i've finished hibernating, I'd like to get out for some wild camps with you again – that is if you're not too busy!!

    Like

  29. terrybnd says:

    Thanks Dave πŸ™‚ You're a good friend – and if I'm too busy that'll be a good thing!!

    I'll wait until you're out of hibernation πŸ˜‰

    Like

  30. Hi Terry,

    I just wanted to say that I think your videos are brilliant. I developed the Let's Stay websites by the way.

    Nick Chambers
    http://www.nickchambers.co.uk

    Like

  31. terrybnd says:

    Thanks Nick πŸ™‚

    I may have some work for you soon πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

