No pain, no gain

Looking over to Win Hill from Eyam Moor

I’ve been suffering from severe pain in my right knee of late – owing to some injury caused by goodness knows what. I can’t even remember when or where I provoked the injury, but thankfully the doctor says it just requires some much needed rest.

I explained to him about my need to be out and about on the hills given I’m paid to be out there now – and so I was recommended the use of a knee support, walking poles and to lessen miles and arduous terrain covered.

So, a little common sense is the order of the day – and consequently, all my routes have been adjusted even if it’s proved to be a little inconvenient.

And so, last week I headed out on to the moors around Eyam – the plan to film the village along with Foolow nearby – and of course ‘camp out’ to capture the best of the local scenery.

Fortunately, the weather window I anticipated for filming fulfilled all expectations, and made for a very productive trip even though it was a little windy in the end.

In fact, it was more than a little windy – at one point I clocked 55mph just over a wall I was pitched by. I didn’t anticipate the storms that were to develop heading towards the weekend – and so it cut my trip short.

New tent seeking shelter!

I’ve only recently replaced my Terra Nova Laser Competition (due to damage from storms) and needless to say, I wanted to protect the shiny spanking new shelter.

It’s worth noting my old ‘comp’ was a 2008 model and it’s brother was born in 2010 – and you can see the differences between them.

The rain hood is wider, the mouth of the pole sleeves is larger, the fly door can be tied back further and now has a 2 way zip. There’s loads of details improved on the 2010 model and I’m pleased as punch with it all.

A short and sweet post this one – I’m busy at the moment planning for my next outing in the next couple of days and finishing off other video projects.

In the meantime, I’ll try to get my knee rested as much as possible – it handled last week alright, though it’s still very sore and locks out on me from time to time. No pain no gain, so they say.

And a quick thank you to all readers, too.

My blog has been going for just over one year, now. Time flies, eh? So much has happened in the past twelve months it’s hard for me to sink in. Coast to Coast, the videos, redundancy and more.

Which reminds me – in the coming weeks I’ll be giving the blog a little makeover – if you have any thoughts on this, do let me know.

Before I sign off – you can view a short clip from the ‘Eyam and Foolow’ video below showing a Peak Park hidden gem, Waterfall Swallet….

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Happy blog day Terry. Hope that the knee improves for you. Having occasional dodgy pins myself I know the hassle that they cause.

    Like

  2. I can recommend this (altho I think I might have found it thru robin….)

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Treat-Your-Own-Knees-Responsiveness/dp/0897934229/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1297006702&sr=8-1

    I only did the first chapter exercises, its ridiculously simple stuff but it really helps

    Like

  3. terrybnd says:

    Thanks guys! 🙂

    @James – I think 'blog day' was in January. It was your blog post that reminded me of it all.

    @David – thanks for that. I think I remember Robin talking about it actually some time ago. I'll look into that. Much appreciated

    Like

  4. Martin Rye says:

    Take it easy on the Knee Terry. Great first year blogging. Keep it up.

    Like

  5. Moonlight Shadow says:

    The missus has that book too, her knees are much better today. It was recommended by Janson, it helped his wife Lisa a heck of a lot to sort out a knee issue.

    Worth obtaining I'd say.

    Like

  6. Jules says:

    Hope the knees get a little less creaky – it's best to look after them, even if you think it's spoiling the fun now!

    I had minor problems with both my knees some years ago (one after the other – bummer!) but rest then and care now means I rarely get pain and, apart from at the time, it hasn't stopped me from doing what I enjoy most!

    Like

  7. brendan says:

    G'day Terry.

    Long time reader, first time commenter 😉

    If your knee is locking on you you might have a tear in your meniscus. If you haven't had a physiotherapist take a look I'd recommend visiting one for a McMurray test.

    As a recovered victim of a ruptured cruciate ligament and torn meniscus myself, I almost literally feel your pain!

    All the best.

    Like

  8. terrybnd says:

    Thanks for the kind words 🙂

    Knee is a little better now – slowly but surely it's improving. Pleased it's not turned into something worst.

    I'll ensure I always take walking poles from now on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

