A quick break in the north west of England

I really didn’t want to break camp and go home

Well, I could sit here and try to be poetic about my latest trip out – or conjure up descriptive words to help form that perfect picture in your minds eye as a reader. But I won’t. You could argue I’m being lazy but I’d much rather let this selection of photographs speak for themselves.

This trip in the north west of England was somewhat of a pleasure trip for me. No work, no videos. Just me, a pack and my two feet taking me out into the great outdoors – just like old times.

And as it happens, the past few days felt peculiarly like a pilgrimage for me – visiting places I regularly walked not so long ago – what with the Peak District stealing all my hill time nowadays. And I was extremely lucky with the weather too (though no doubt my ‘sun god-like’ reputation will be enhanced by this post!).

All in all, it brought back memories and produced new ones – it was one helluva trip and one that will linger for a few months at least in my memory….

I reached Patterdale mid afternoon last Thursday. I figured my luck was in too. Most fells were drooping in clag but
over in the east it was pretty clear.
I decided to head up Place Fell and make camp there. En route, I looked over Ullswater to catch sight of Glenridding
where I married my wife a few years ago (Cripes! I can’t remember how many!)
The winds were quite ferocious up top, so I quickly made camp and got comfy with some new gear on test.
The Rab Infinity 300 sleeping bag, Vaude Norssken mattress and a Rab MeCo baselayer
The rain arrived just after I pitched but cleared after a while to give me some respite.
Things didn’t look a great deal better the following morning as I peeked out the tent.
So, instead of staying high this day – I made my way downwards to enjoy many of the Lake Districts fine
becks and waterfalls.
It was no less entertaining a stroll either with much beauty close at hand
I passed by Brotherswater and headed up the Kirkstone Pass aiming for the pub of same name
The sun came and went but as I reached the top of the pass, things got grimmer and wetter
As sunset fast approached, I made a stealthy camp not far from the pub on the fell – just as the weather
began to improve
It was such a stealthy camp, even I couldn’t locate the bugger when I left the pub at closing time!
Took me 90 minutes to find my tent on the fellside!
Despite some strong winds and rain, camp was really quite sheltered from the elements.
The Kirkstone Pass Inn, where I was invited to meet some fellow outdoors enthusiasts and bloggers
I really enjoyed the two nights I spent with this motley crew in the pub – good, honest, down to earth folk
with a real love for the outdoors.
On the Saturday, I joined them for a stroll on the nearby fells – the weather was simply superb.
Looking over to Fairfield and it’s impressive crags.
The view into Dovedale – where some of the group chose to visit the Priests Hole Cave only to discover
it’s been boarded up! Why this has happened I do not know.
A distant Windermere from Caudale Moor
Heading down to Hartsop where the group split to go differing routes. Mine was to head back to the pub.
A fine view over to Dove Crag – I really hope it’s not true about the cave.
Camp made (again) near the Kirkstone Inn – just as the sun was heading down.
And time for a quick snack to replenish some energy.
I had a fair few bits of new kit to try out on this trip (more of which in another post). Here you’ll see me
with the Paramo Core jacket on. I was a bit dubious to this and it’s (separate to purchase) sleeves but
they proved to be really versatile.
Only Mum’s buy tents from Iceland!
Needless to say, temperatures were quite low on this trip.
The Old Man of Coniston peeps round Red Screes and it’s mine at dawn.
Temps were still low even though the sun had been out for a wee while.
Lakeland sheep, eh? They get about some precarious places don’t they?
Having popped back down to say goodbye to the Fight Club Hikers (they were staying in the bunkhouse at Kirkstone)
I joined blogger Northern Pies for a stroll up Dod Hill. It made for some impressive views of the Lakeland mountains.
Crinkle Crags from Dod Hill – a cracking place to enjoy a wild camp, make no doubt.
Same vantage point but now looking over to Swirl How.
Northern Pies very kindly gave a me a lift after our morning stroll to Ingleton in the Yorkshire Dales.
I left him to enjoy a cup of tea in a cafe and then made my way for the summit of Ingleborough – where I took
advantage of the wonderful sunshine to charge my phone and camera with a Powermonkey Explorer.
Despite the cold air, the sun soon made you sweat. Here’s a view of my favourite hill – Ingleborough.
It was such a pleasure for me to place my feet, touch it’s rocks and take in it’s sights again. A place for whatever
reason I never, never tire of.
A view from Ingleborough over to it’s neighbour, Whernside and a distant Howgill Fells – a scene I savoured
for many minutes.
I followed this cyclist up to the summit – he practically carried it all the way up and began to do so while
descending the other side (??)
Another aspect I love about Ingleborough is it’s history – here a picture of the ancient stone wall remains
that are clearly visible around the summit plateau.
One of the many hut circles you can find up here – yet most people walk on by without paying any attention to
these wonderful remains of tribes from distant times.
Pen Y Ghent – there’s something about a winter sun setting and the way it makes limestone look so beautiful.
Sulber Nick and beyond – the colours were breathtaking.
The sun sets behind the triangulation column.
All points of the compass lead to a beautiful scene.
One large cairn near the trig point is in fact the remains of a former hospice built on the summit. You can clearly see
it’s foundations in this picture with a distant Lake District skyline as a backdrop.
The end of another wonderful day in northern England.
The tide is out on Morecambe Bay.
Name the fell. Take your pick. They’re all here! The Lake District from Ingleborough.
Clear skies and a bright moon.
Standing in one world, looking back into another.
Some Yorkshire Three Peaks baggers arrive late on the summit before heading down to Horton in Ribblesdale.
And so, I headed back to my tent with the Plough constellation up above in the night sky.
Despite it appearing so dark, in fact the moonlight was quite bright – so there was no need
for a head torch most of the time.
I took in the views before retiring to a warm and toasty bed.
Pendle Hill from my tent porch – just before sunrise.
In the distance I could see a large sheet of cloud creeping slowly my way. It would be 10.30am it finally enveloped the area.
It’s times like these that no words or pictures can describe – for me it’s a highlight of all wild camps.
Camp Ingleborough.
Pen Y Ghent at dawn.
One last look at Simon Fell below Ingleborough before I made my way down to catch a train home.
32 Comments Add yours

  1. northlakesuk says:

    great set of pics mate stunning . I was up place fell friday morning but guess you were long gone lol

    Like

  2. hillplodder says:

    Another nice set, as always.

    Like

  3. Nice one Terry looked like you lucked out with the weather (once again!). I made the mistake of wild camping on Ingleborough in the middle of summer one year, not much peace I can tell you!

    Like

  4. Good pics. I love the Far Eastern Fells. Looking forward to that sleeping bag review ;o)

    Like

  5. An absolutely stunning set of photos there Terry, particularly the Ingleborough excursion. Some fantastic night shots and some great angles on the tent throughout. Glad you had a good weekend and got some quality time away from the (video) camera.

    Like

  6. Anonymous says:

    These lovely pictures remind me of past wild camps with the mountain gods of the fells, where you are as free as you could ever be, replenishing and energising your body and soul.

    Superb Terry, just superb….

    tange179

    Like

  7. terrybnd says:

    @northlakesuk – Oh aye, I was long gone lol. Big place that fell. Lots of nooks and crannies. I was pitched on the northern edges wanting a bigger view of Ullswater – alas, the weather didn't play ball that evening.

    @hillplodder – Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    @James Boulter – Mate, even this 'sun god' and 'inversion king' thing is beginning to freak me out! I was expecting poor weather for this trip just as forecast. But it suddenly changed – much to my joy ๐Ÿ˜‰

    @blogpackinglight – Thanks Robin. The sleeping bag is bloody brilliant. Goes on sale next year late spring mate.

    @Nick Bramhall – Thank you. Honestly, the break may have tired me out a little and brought back a recurring knee injury – but it did me good. Was so nice to switch off and take it all in with my eyes and not a viewfinder. Will try to do trips like this more often.

    @tange179 – Thank you. It really was a boost for morale and soul this trip. Better than I could have hoped – amongst some of my favourite places to be, too.

    Like

  8. Al says:

    Great pictures, we were certainly blessed with some crackin weather over the weekend, shame I had to work on sat, but you certainly made the most of it.

    Like

  9. As you said in the post the pictures told the story, some really nice shots makes me wish I was out wild camping

    Like

  10. Richard says:

    Cracking pics terry, excellent

    Like

  11. Alan Sloman says:

    Can you organise the same weather please for our next foray to the Dales?

    Appreciated.

    Ta, in advance.

    Like

  12. Peter Crawford says:

    Nice pics as ever Terry. The bright blob in the night photos is the planet Saturn.

    Like

  13. creep says:

    Great pictures.
    I like your blog article.
    from japan.

    Like

  14. Alan R says:

    Really enjoyed reading your post and there are some delightful photoโ€™s.

    Like

  15. MixedupMessedUp says:

    Great set of pics Terry

    The 'All points of the compass' pic looks familiar, no idea why ๐Ÿ™‚

    Any news on Priests Hole Cave?

    Like

  16. matt says:

    Great read Terry, fab pics! Reminds me of some of your earlier posts when it wasn't for 'work'.

    Ps. Blogcams, blogcams blogcams!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Matt

    Like

  17. Martin Rye says:

    Superb photos and great trip you had.

    Like

  18. terrybnd says:

    @Al – Shame. Yeah, I milked it for all I could ๐Ÿ˜‰

    @Paul aka themuss – Cheers mate. Shame you couldn't make one night eh?

    @Richard – Thank you.

    @Alan Sloman – Lol! I'll try my best mate

    @Peter Crawford – Thanks mate, was a pleasure meeting you over the weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

    @creep @Alan R – Thank you

    @MixedupMessedUp – No idea on the cave mate. We'll see. Very odd though eh? I know a local volunteers their time to look after the cave. How the hell they boarded it up with that scramble up to it I'll never know lol

    @matt – Lol OK! OK! Next trip out I'll do a blogcam lol Honestly don't see what folk like about em. Cripes I hate seeing myself on camera lol

    @Martin Rye – Cheers mate. Told you it was a cracking trip. Be nice to get similar conditions when we head out soon eh? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  19. Anonymous says:

    looks like you had a few decent days there mate, the pics are superb. 1

    Twigs.

    Like

  20. Moonlight Shadow says:

    Splendid looking trip old chap!

    Like

  21. PhilR says:

    Terry, yet again some great pics

    Like

  22. jamehand says:

    Love the photos, they brought back some very fond recent memories as I was hiking over Place Fell just 3 weeks ago myself, (I recognise the camping spot I am sure of it!). First time in the Eastern Fells for me and I found them beautifully wild and uncrowded so I will definitely be going back there very, very soon I hope – already making plans! ๐Ÿ™‚ As ever love the blog and your obvious love for the wonderful countryside you describe shows through in spades.

    Like

  23. An enjoyable trip write up there Terry and some lovely pics as well. Mind you your tent is a bit messy, I bet you didn't keep your bedroom tidy as a kid either ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I was over in the Lakes (just down the valley from Kirkstone pass Sunday night/Monday morning on Sheffield Pike to capture some dawn pics and it was truly wonderful.

    Like

  24. surfnslide says:

    Great pics and storming few days. I have some time on my hands at the moment so I should really get out for some winter wild camping while I can. You've inspired me!

    Like

  25. Jules says:

    What a great looking few days! And fab shots to celebrate them with.

    Like

  26. Terry, a great set of photos. I keep meaning to purchase one of those Kestrel gadgets.

    Like

  27. Anonymous says:

    @Peter Crawford.
    Do your homework man, that was Jupiter not Saturn. ; )

    Twigs.

    Like

  28. terrybnd says:

    @Twiglegs, PhilR, Moonlightshadow – Thanks guys ๐Ÿ™‚

    @jamehand – Thank you. Much appreciated mate. Yeah, the eastern fells are great. Overlooked by the masses, really. More so the fells outside the national park boundary near to the M6 and Howgills, too. Go visit that place. No paths, nobody – you'll think you've gone back in time! ๐Ÿ™‚ (for the Lakes at least)

    @David Forster – Thanks. Tent messy? Lol I'm tidy really. It's just when I take the picture ๐Ÿ˜‰ Twas a lovely morning that Sunday – mind you, it was a lovely day!

    @surfnslide – No matter the weather or season, I'm out. Better a rainy day out and than a sunny day in, eh? Yeah, temps have rapidly dropped in recent weeks up on the tops. This was however the first trip where I experienced thick frost mind – to think this time last year we had lost of snow, eh? ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Jules – Thank you. Was a great trip. I'm going to endeavour to do a trip like this once a month are at the very least, once every two months ๐Ÿ™‚

    @markswalkingblog – There are differing models of them Kes'. Worth it though. Handy for gear testing, too – be it ambient conditions or trying out stats inside clothing etc. The guys who do the weather reports for Helvellyn in the winter use them.

    Like

  29. wibble69 says:

    nice blog Terry!! great day with the Fight Club Team and 7 Wainwrights bagged!! Pictures are awesome!! An honorary Fight Club member!!

    Like

  30. terrybnd says:

    @wibble69 – Thanks mate! Was good meeting you. Really enjoyed it. Nice to meet like minded souls with the same taste for beer and sense of humour ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  31. Anonymous says:

    Thank you, for the very nice pictures of your sojourn Terry…so glad you were able to break loose from the daily work schedule and spend some precious time with good friends. Sorry to be so late to the party mate…I have been doing sort of the same thing here with good mate…only down in the lowlands.

    Regards,
    Barefoot Child

    Like

  32. terrybnd says:

    @Barefoot Child – No worries. Good to hear from you again mate

    Like

Leave a Reply

