It’s been a bit quiet of late….anyway, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

An ambitious project I’m working on in three separate episodes

It’s been a bit quiet from me of late which is only a consequence of my work. Alas, all outstanding projects are complete and it’s now onto new commissions.

One of which I’m particularly excited about – the Peak District at night (more of which in the future).
Spending nights out under the stars is truly a humbling experience let alone completely mesmerising – and perhaps it’s something many of us take for granted. It’s something I’ve always wanted to capture and share with folk who are new to the great outdoors. More so given the severe effect light pollution from our towns and cities has on enjoying the cosmos above.
All the views in the day when hiking? No.
There’s much to enjoy at night too

The changing of the seasons, weather in all it’s incarnations, glorious dawns and beautiful sunsets all add immensely to how I enjoy time in our national parks – and night time is no different. Alas, it’s difficult to capture on camera and particularly video.

With that in mind and an eye on next years ambitions, I’ve been busy of late seeking out new gear which will enable me to film or photograph such sights. I’ll make no bones about it – it’s cost me several hundred pounds but hopefully the kit proves to be another tool in my creative arsenal. And so for the past week, I’ve been out and about trying out new techniques, playing around with the finished products and generally learning what works and what doesn’t.
It’s been a steep learning curve, let me tell you. But I’m about there and now ready to head out into the hills and let loose. There’s some kit I still need to acquire to achieve some video I have in mind but this can wait til the new year and it’s always best to learn to walk before heading off on a run. Besides, the executing of some of my ideas will take quite some time to achieve but I’m sure they’ll be worth the effort.
I’ve also been patiently waiting for a decent (enough) weather window too. Sure there’s been some snow and sun on the odd day in the Peaks – but it’s always been accompanied by strong winds which is a pain in the rear when I’m filming. The camera shudders causing the recording to wobble, dust gets in lenses and all sorts. But things seem to be settling now for a few days at least.

And I’d like to say ‘Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year’ to you all too! Seasons greetings. I’m not sure when I’ll next be back home proper blogging and what have you. So, I thought best to pass on my best wishes to you all at this time of year now – and not in 2012.

I hope you all get to enjoy some fab times in the hills and landscapes that look fantastic at this time of year and maybe the odd overnight camp, too. It’s what it’s all about after all, eh?

So, on that note I shall stop waffling and get packing ready for another long trip in the Peaks….
Leave a Reply

