VIDEO: The Red Grouse – Peak District National Park

These delightful birds wake me up in the morning on moorland camps, frighten me half to death darting out from the heather when wandering the moors and for some strange reason consider me a bit of a friend.

It may come as no surprise to some that I’ve managed to collect quite a few hours of footage of these special upland birds in recent months. Often I’ll be wearing a bright orange down jacket as I relax around camp at dawn and it’s usually then the grouse appear and let me walk right up to them with my video camera.

Bizarre really. Friends have joked I must smell like them but I like to think it’s because they know I’m a friend and not a foe….
Leave a Reply

