The Staffordshire Peak District

Tittesworth Reservoir seen from the Roaches

Just before my last trip out, I had a very interesting meeting with Staffordshire County Council at their offices in Stafford. The consequence of which I’ve been commissioned to produce a video promoting all the great and good of the Staffordshire Moorlands and it’s part in the Peak District National Park.

I’ve got a tight deadline on it, mind. There’s a lot of ground to cover and places to visit but it’s a project I’m really excited about working on. Over the past year working in the Peak Park it’s become obvious to me and many I speak to out in the field that bar places like the Roaches – the wider public tends to overlook the scenic delights on offer in this area of the midlands, never mind places of interest.

I’ll be the first to admit, I was just the same until a few months ago. Hidden dales, cosy villages and wooded glens with tumbling brooks to wind swept ‘wild’ moors all suddenly appeared on my radar – that sense of excitement at treading on new ground and casting my gaze on never before seen sights all came flooding back.

The whole area has so much to offer but is often overlooked by it’s more illustrious county neighbour of Derbyshire, where to be fair the lion’s share of the Peak District National Park resides. Even so, what we today perceive as the ‘Peak District’ is primarily shaped by it’s modern day protective boundaries – but in times gone by the wider area as a whole was considered the Peak District. For example, Matlock town and it’s nearby dales and hills with far reaching views and of course the western moors and meadows in the south west around the town of Leek.

And so, with my video gear in hand and pack on my back I shall be spending much of my time endeavouring to capture true and lovely scenes of the Staffordshire Moorlands in the coming weeks. After which there may well be more videos I’ll be producing of the area at large.

I’ve got quite a bit of work to cram in now (some of which I can’t talk about as of yet but they’re exciting) until early May as for the most of that month I’ll be on the TGO Challenge in Scotland. So, ramblings on here may be brief or sporadic at times for a long while.

In the meantime, you can view some footage I’ve collected already on the Derbyshire/Staffordshire county border in some outtakes I’ve edited below – otherwise, I’ll be heading to all other southerly points of the compass very soon. You can help me out on this, too actually – I’m not sure whether to go with something musically similar to what’s in the clip below or go for something completely different altogether? Essentially it’s a demonstration of the style I’m aiming for in what will be a 5-7 minute feature.

I’ll be filming various towns and villages and other places of interest too. And fingers crossed I’ll be heading up into the skies for some aerial footage. For example in this short demo, just as the music begins to lift for it’s final inspiring push I’m hoping to capture some sweeping Peakland vistas from up high above.

Leave a Reply

