ON TEST – Westcomb’s Polartec Neoshell Shift FT Hoody jacket (340g)

Westcomb Polartec Neoshell Shift FT
Simple lightweight Polartec Neoshell jacket from Westcomb

Quick blogpost this one as I’m busy finishing off some work before heading out to the Peak District for the weekend. I’ve had some nice gear come and go of late for feedback and testing but one has landed on my doorstep today that I’m particularly excited about.

If there’s one waterproof fabric I’ve been singing praises for over the past year, it’s Polartec’s Neoshell. The Rab jacket I had (and continue to use) was one of my fave bits of gear in 2011. I’ve yet to clean it and it still works as new. Water beads off it, I’ve sweated countless litres in it, scuffed it on gritstone, tugged it on bushes and it’s still performs as new. However, it’s not a particularly lightweight garment. Aye it’s designed for mountaineering in general but sometimes the bulk of lugging such a piece of gear about aint always necessary.

Anyway….

Westcomb of Canada have sent me a prototype Neoshell jacket to give them feedback on. Essentially it’s about finished design wise but the interesting bit is this. Size large and weighs only 340 grammes!

Westcomb Polartec Neoshell Shift FT
Size large, comfortable fit and only 340 grammes

It’s a simple waterproof jacket with velcro cuffs, cinch cord at the waist, generous storm flap on the inside of the main zip, one generous outer pocket and one small inside pocket. Hoods roomy though not wired but with adjustable cords.

The fit isn’t too slim either which has made my beer belly happy!

And even at the rear it’s slightly longer to help disguise one’s builder’s arse when out on the hills in the rain.

So, I’m really quite excited about putting this jacket to good use over the coming weeks. Hopefully, I’ll enjoy using it more than I did Gore’s Active Shell jacket.

UPDATE Brief review of the Westcomb Jacket can be found HERE.

Leave a Reply

