A humbling day out

Cold nights out on the moors waiting for the right moment at dawn to film – all been worth it.

The big day finally arrived today. The video I’ve spent the past few weeks frantically working on for Staffordshire County Council promoting their part of the Peak District and it’s wider area was launched at a business tourism conference in Stoke-on-Trent.

I’ve not attended such meetings before and so I’ll admit I was a little apprehensive and more so given my video would be shown on two large-ish screens. Colouring, contrast and sound was of concern as I really wanted the video to look and sound it’s best. After all, I haven’t spent days up on the moors and wandering around places of interest chasing the light and it’s hues for nothing. Alas, there was nothing to be concerned about. It looked great.

I shall not waffle too much about the day, except it was nice meeting everyone there and it was certainly enlightening to see the research that goes into tourism for Staffordshire as a county and how so many businesses work as a team to increase visitor numbers, raise awareness of attractions and such like.

As time passed by it soon dawned on me the part I play in the whole organic machine that is promoting Staffordshire as a holiday destination. The passion, drive, focus and much more from within was inspirational at times and so it made me a little nervous as to how the audience would respond to my video (see bottom of blogpost).

All the scenes I wanted to include were ticking over and over in my mind and I began to wish I had had more time to work on this particular feature.

And so the video begins to roll.

And so after all the talks and presentations, the lights dimmed and the video began to play. Once it finished, my heart rate increased slightly as the room was deathly silent! And moments later the crowd began to applaud. This unnerved me somewhat, as I thought no one liked it. Or were disappointed perhaps. I wanted to leg it out of there and head home!

But as soon as I left the room, I suddenly found myself surrounded by people congratulating me and complementing the video. It transpired they were somewhat dumbstruck at the scenes I had captured over the past few weeks and edited all together (or so they told me). Some were really quite emotional about it too, going into detail why they liked it where and when and so on. It was all a little overwhelming and once I had the chance I nipped off to a nearby bar for a stiff drink!

Personally, I don’t think the video is ‘that‘ great. I like the first couple of minutes and the final couple of minutes. In the middle, the video wasn’t what I originally envisaged due to time, weather and technical issues I’ve encountered so I feel it lets it down. But I’m really pleased that people seem to like it and have been extremely humbled by all the responses I’ve received. Each to their own I suppose or maybe I’m being too critical of myself. I still feel very much a beginner with all of this but am still determined to keep pushing myself and sharing the inspiration I and most of you dear readers the joys of the great outdoors.

Once the dust had settled, representatives from Staffordshire County Council confirmed that not only would they like me to produce them another video – but more on top. In my mind I figured I must’ve done something right and am now really excited at the projects lined up in the coming weeks. At least this time I have much more time to work on the videos and of course improve on what I’ve done already.

So, all in all it was a good day and I’m still in a bit of a daze about it all. It was lovely meeting everyone, old and new and errrr….well, here’s to the next lot of videos!

Leave a Reply

