VIDEO – Hordron Edge Stone Circle, Peak District National Park

Hordron Edge stone circle, Peak District National Park
A little experimenting – lighting up one of the stones on Hordron Edge at night.

Hordron Edge stone circle – a real gem of the Peak District. Located on the little explored Moscar Moor which sits below the northern end of Stanage Edge. This really is one of those places that keeps calling me back. I don’t know why, it’s not the best such ancient site I’ve visited but it’s got something.

The views aint bad either. Looking west your eyes will take in Ladybower, Win Hill, Lose Hill and over to the hulking massif that is Kinder Scout. The north just reveals the rear end of Derwent Edge and the east and south is more moors but with the ‘quiet end’ of Stanage Edge looming large.

Who knows why ancient peoples built the stone circle here and one can only imagine how the landscape may have looked to them all those years ago. Why were they here? What did it all mean to them?

I think coupled with the scenery and it’s somewhat exposed location – the ever changing views coupled with the weather certainly gives this stone circle a magical air about it. It’s impressive in the daytime as you observe several large stones standing proud out of the ground. But come the evening or at dawn it’s something else all together.

wild camping
Using the tent as a shelter to keep the wind at bay from my camera – in this case I’m
just waiting for day to turn to night.

I spent 4 solid days here the other week, and another night recently to capture scenes of Hordron Edge stone circle. It’s a video I’ve had in mind for quite some time too. Most walkers know not enough to the history that abounds in the Peak District. We can all learn from it and respect the lands we love even more I feel.

The video I was hoping to produce also involved something new for me and my work too. Night time timelapse.

This in itself proved to be extremely time consuming and required some great care. Basically, using a DSLR you take a series of pictures of a scene at night and then when home you stitch them together using software to create a video – an animation if you like.

Moscar Moor and Stanage Edge
Moscar Moor and the northern end of Stanage Edge.

Except, that video is generally a minimum standard of 24 frames per second. Consequently, capturing 24 pictures of a scene at night equates to just one second of video. Considering that it’s night time of course -then each picture will take at least 15 seconds to take to ensure one see’s all the stars in the night sky.

So, as you can imagine just 15 seconds of such video will involve several hundred photos. Not very good for the mechanical workings of a DSRL in truth. It only shortens it’s lifespan. Plus, if you don’t get it right then you may have sat around all night for nothing!

I had one such problem on Monday evening. I had all the shots and angles I wanted set up and ready. When it finally turned midnight I got to work. The first shot involved a specific view I wanted of the Plough constellation gliding over the stone circle. Alas, after a little over 90 minutes I crawled out my tent sheltering from the cold to check the camera.

Damn it! Condensation had formed on the lens in effect ruining the whole shoot! Things didn’t much improve after that as it became apparent the humid air was just a fore warning of thick cloud creeping in. By 4am it was lights out for me and some much needed sleep.

Still, it’s been a helluva learning curve and I hope to do more such scenes in the future.

The whole experience of spending so much time in one specific location has been quite enlightening too. And I’m keen to do similar again. You certainly get to know the warts and all of a place.

If you’re keen to learn more about ancient sites in Peakland, then you can’t go far wrong from checking out my mate Geoff’s website. He works on it with another friend and it’s named after the tribe believed to where the national park derives it’s name – Pecsaetan: Dedicated to the ancient monuments of Derbyshire and it’s bordering counties.

So after all that work and effort – here’s the final result. Not quite what I had hoped for but it does still give a flavour to one of my favourite spots in the whole of the Peak District National Park…..

Leave a Reply

