On test: Duxcoat – a revolution in water and dirt repellency?

Duxcoat Nano
Nano technology water and dirt repellancy.

Thought I’d mention a little here about a product that arrived on my doorstep a few weeks back called Duxcoat. It’s a chemical one sprays or brushes and so on, onto clothing, timber, stone and more – the end result being it makes the surface of such objects water and dirt repellent. Revolutionary? I don’t know. It’s been out for a couple of years at least but focused on windscreens on cars and such like.

I’ve yet to try it out just yet but intend to do so very soon on a selection of outdoor clothing I’ll be wearing on up and coming trips. The invisible coating is 500 times smaller than a human hair (hence the ‘nano’ term) and is environmentally friendly too – the particles are carried in either water or alcohol solution that then evaporates once you’ve whacked it on your chosen surface.

I’ve been assured that it doesn’t affect the breathability of garments – which is important on waterproof garments like eVent or Gore, of course.

So, I’ll be interested to see how I get on with this German made stuff. They say that such repellants like Silicone (think a tent flysheet as one example – or at least on most backpacking tents anyway) claim to be based upon nano technology but often their effect is rather short term and as most of us know has no resistance against friction either.

This could be really bloody handy for waterproof jackets where quite often your rucksack straps wear away any DWR you have around the shoulders and consequently get a bit wet through in driving rain.

Duxcoat repels dirt and bacteria as well – so I’ll be interested to see how it performs on baselayers and hiking trousers too.

It’s got tonnes of uses for other kit when you think about it and so things like my rucksack will get a coating with this product and see if it lives up to it’s hype. If all goes well, I may splash some on tents too.

I’ll report back on here in due course and let you all know how I get on. In the meantime, you might find this somewhat cheesy ‘Benny Hill-ish’ video promoting the product below amusing:

Leave a Reply

