The simple joys of Kinder Scout with friends

Keith Foskett, Kinder Scout, wild camping, Peak District National Park
Keith takes in a superb sunset from the flanks of Kinder Scout.

I was a lucky man this weekend. Normally I plan my trips in accordance to favourable weather conditions. However, I had no choice this weekend as I had arranged to meet blogger Jake Lunniss and writer and thru-hiker Keith Foskett – who had kindly volunteered to feature in a photoshoot I needed to do up in the Peak District National Park.

Fortunately, the Gods were smiling down on me and we ended up savouring some superb conditions out on the moors of Kinder Scout.

I could wax lyrical about what a wonderful time was had by all, and be all poetic concerning the ever changing sights we encountered – and to be frank, I can’t be ar***.

So, as usual I’ll let the pictures do the talking with a few words to complement each….

Grindslow Knoll, starry sky, Peak District National Park
Me and Keith headed up to Grindslow Knoll after enjoying a few ales in the Nag’s Head in Edale. It was a nice
catch up. The walk up was steep and arduous after a few, but the views were worth it. Here’s a scene I captured
from the summit at about 11.30pm. My bivvy was just behind these rocks.
Wild camping, Grindslow Knoll
At about 12am, Jake finally arrived while Keith decided to head off to the land of nod. It was bitterly cold in the winds.
The following morning was stunning though. The sun’s warmth made it a pleasure to chill out amongst the tors.
Edale Valley, Peak District National Park.
We chatted for a while enjoying some coffees and taking in lovely scenes of the Edale Valley.
Mermaid's Pool, Kinder Scout, Peak District National Park
Eventually, we packed up and headed off around the Kinder plateau. The destination was Mermaid’s Pool near Kinder Downfall where I planned to do our shoot.
butterfly
While Keith shared his stories of walking the Appalachian Trail he’s just completed,  noted this wee fella on some rocks
on the edge of the moor.
Wild camping, Peak District
After completing the majority of the shoot, we relaxed taking in the fine views from our camp. We chose not to head down to Mermaid’s Pool in the end. I figured our new location afforded better views. And it was a good job too. Some time later we took in an RAF SAR practicing by the tarn!
wild camping
We hung around a while waiting for some company to arrive. Friends Matt and Yuri had at the last minute chose to come and meet us up on Kinder for the night.
Wild camping on Kinder Scout
Matt and Yuri enjoy the superb sunset we experienced from the flanks of Kinder Scout.
Rab Ridge Master bivi
I chose to spend the weekend out in the superb Rab Ridge Master bivi. I’ll post a review of this soon. I’ve been using this for a good few months now.
Ridge Master bivi, wild camping
A quick look inside the bivi. Plenty of room for me, a mat, other kit and a winter rated down bag to loft properly.
terrybnd, Peak District videos
I decided to enjoy the sunset atop a nearby tor. And I nabbed a few pictures too.
Kinder Scout sunset
The colours of the sunset were quite simply breathtaking. What would otherwise appeared a simple and perhaps dull scene of these rocks earlier in the day – were now a technicolour delight!
Keith Foskett jumps for joy
All in all it was a superb couple of nights out on the moors. We were all jumping for joy!
It was a pleasure to share it all with friends. Though I did find it amusing to learn poor Yuri
had inadvertently left his tent poles behind after descending to nearby Hayfield!
Sadly we encountered a sombre and moving scene by Edale Rocks on the Saturday. We noticed a yellow helicopter by the tor from afar and we figured it was the local Edale MRT practising or Moors For The Future lugging some kit about restoring the moors.

As we approached ever closer, we learnt via a ranger who was diverting walkers elsewhere that a gentleman had died from cardiac arrest while out walking.

I’ve always thought if I was going to pass away in the outdoors, at least I’d move on elsewhere a happy man. But I changed my mind after encountering this tragic circumstance. I felt what a lonely way to die out here on the moors, alone and with strangers around. We noticed some people that didn’t appear to be MRT by the helicopter and I can only hope it was the gentleman’s family and perhaps he was out walking with them that morning.

I for one, would rather pass away with friends and family close by and maybe it’s somewhat naive (or selfish) of me to have even considered the thought that “Well, at least I passed away doing something I enjoyed…”. My sincerest condolences to the family to whom these sad events may concern.

Leave a Reply

