Chris Townsend talks to BBC Radio Scotland about ‘The Cairngorms in Winter’

The Cairngorms in Winter with Chris Townsend
Chris enjoys a fantastic view from Ben Macdui while filming ‘The Cairngorms in Winter’

I’m currently planning in nauseating detail my next trip to Lakeland to film ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike’. Something I’m really looking forward to. I’ll be filming more scenes with Lakeland author and friend to Alfred Wainwright, Mark Richards (including him at work on one of his inkdrawings), and I’ll be following the local Wasdale MRT too.

I’d like to thank all of you who’ve contributed towards the project’s completion via Indiegogo too. Again, it’s been extremely humbling for me to know so many of you wish to see the final film finished but also have the faith in me in achieving the vision I’m keen to produce.
I’ve also been humbled of late to discover that ‘The Cairngorms in Winter with Chris Townsend’ screened to a sellout showing at the prestigious Eden Court in Inverness last Wednesday, which Chris attended for Q’s&A’s afterwards. Sadly work dictated I wasn’t able to join him. I’m thrilled to hear that the reception to the film was overwhelmingly positive yet again. 
I’ll be the first to admit, I never expected such a response to the film. My first attempt at a feature length video was always going to be scary but I was never sure how people would react to it. I keep saying it, but it’s true! It astounds me. Chris, too as it happens. As a consequence Eden Court wish to host more screenings soon. And of course I’m beginning to ‘feel the heat’ for the next big one, featuring the Scafells.
Chris talked recently with BBC Radio Scotland about ‘The Cairngorms in Winter’ which you can hear via the following link (Chris begins about the 50min mark) HERE
On that note, I’d like to thank you all again for contributing towards the Scafells project. It means a great deal to me on many levels and I hope you will be thrilled with the end result.
Leave a Reply

