‘Cairngorms in Winter’ chosen for Kendal Mountain Festival, and launch of BMCTV

BMCTV British Mountaineering Council
The British Mountaineering Council’s new video channel.

The other evening, I took an unexpected call from the Kendal Mountain Festival informing me that my film ‘The Cairngorms in Winter with Chris Townsend’ had been chosen to feature during the event – albeit a ‘festival edit’.

The film is 96mins duration and I had to get it down to 40mins maximum! Don’t ask me how, but I’ve done it. Needless to say, there are a great many scenes that had to be removed unfortunately. But I think I’ve managed to keep the ambience, tone and message of the film intact for audiences. Or at least I hope so!

I’m really looking forward to attending the festival now. It’s shaping up to be a memorable one too. As I’ll also be at the TGO Magazine Awards 2013, having been nominated for ‘Outdoors Personality of the Year’! That again was something out the blue for me. I don’t expect to win it of course. If you visit the following link where folks can vote in different categories, you’ll see the esteemed company I’ve been nominated with: VOTING.

Even so, I’m extremely humbled by both the nomination for the TGO Award and the ‘Gorms’ film being selected for the Kendal Festival. Just being there is enough for me to be honest. That alone feels like a win in my book.

Also, the BMC (British Mountaineering Council) have just launched a new outdoors video website called BMCTV.  You’ll find lots of videos on there, including ones with a ‘walking’ focus, along with clips of my work from ‘The Cairngorms in Winter with Chris Townsend’ and ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike’.

I’m pleased to announce that the BMC are now official sponsors of my Scafell Pike documentary too and I look forward to working with them more on the project in the coming months ahead.

‘ROOF OF THE CAIRNGORMS’ from ‘The Cairngorms in Winter with Chris Towsnend’
‘DAWN OF A NEW DAY’ from ‘The Cairngorms in Winter with Chris Townsend’
EXTENDED TEASER TRAILER ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike’
Leave a Reply

