Movie Matinee! The magnificent Scafells.

Scafell Pike from Hard Knott, Lake District National Park
The Scafells as seen from a camp on Hard Knott fell the other week.

I’m back home now after an eventful and productive trip in the Lake District working on ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike’. I’ll share more about the trip in the next few days. Highlights included filming with Wasdale MRT, the ‘World’s Biggest Liar Competition’ and battling a horrendous storm out on the fells one night – how the tent survived I’ll never know. I’m also pleased to announce that mountaineering legend Alan Hinkes OBE will be featuring in the film too.

Other than that, in the meantime you can view the latest of the teaser shorts for the film below and to help bring it into context and share with you the progress the film is making I’ve embedded some other shorts I’ve produced previously – think of it as a Movie Matinee.

I’m really pleased (with the footage I can view of course and not reveal here or in the teaser shorts) with how the film is progressing. It’s going too well in my book! Which is a bit unnerving. I’m waiting for something to go wrong. It’s the nature of the game.

Either way, I hope you like what you see and how it’s all shaping up to be the special film I’ve envisaged it to be….

WASDALE VALLEY FARMER, RICHARD SCRIVENER

“So when you’re out walking the fells, climbing the mountains, just take a look. A moment of your time and look. Look around and see why it (the fells) looks the way it does because of the Herdwick sheep and the generations of farmers, that have farmed these valleys, these fells….and make it look the way it does for you to enjoy.”

LAKELAND FELLRANGER SERIES AUTHOR, MARK RICHARDS

“Well, these mountains (the Scafells) have a special emotional attachment to me….what really drew me into hillwalking in it’s entirety was a love of pen and ink drawing….”

JOSS NAYLOR MBE – KING OF THE FELLS
“I’ve lived in this valley (Wasdale) now for nearly 78 years….Scafell Pike it’s unique in it’s own manner really. It’s more or less just a heap of stones. But it’s a unique heap of stones.”

WASDALE HEAD SHOW AND SHEPHERDS MEET

Eric Robson, “It’s the one day of the year that I ring fence in my diary. And I don’t care if something came along that offered me double, treble, quadruple the rate for a job. I’d say no. The Wasdale Head Show is sacrosanct.”

LIFE OF A MOUNTAIN: SCAFELL PIKE – EXTENDED TEASER TRAILER
A year in the life of England’s highest peak featuring all those who live, work, care for and play on and around this iconic fell.

Leave a Reply

