Yours truly on BBC TV next week

Terry Abraham Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike
A still from video Ed at the BBC filmed of me atop Hard Knott last November. It was a tad cold and windy!

Last November a couple of fellas from BBC Inside Out spent a night out with me on the flanks of Hard Knott in the Lake District. I hooked up with them earlier that day at Lingcove Bridge and they filmed me in action producing ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike’ for the next 24 hours.

Neither of them had wild camped before and I was a little anxious for them given it was rather stormy up on the tops – putting it mildly. Despite one of their tents failing in the strong winds, they both had a great time and became hooked on the joys of spending nights out on the fells.

They even brought me a bottle of malt to warm my cockles as at this point I’d been out in the Lakes for a couple of nights or so. They were my new best friends.

Ed Hanson from the BBC again filmed me a week later while attending the Kendal Mountain Festival where ‘The Cairngorms in Winter with Chris Towsnend’ was being screened, and again the following month at my home editing my Scafells film.

I have to admit, it was really bizarre being in front of the camera and talking, as I’m usually the person behind the scenes doing the filming! I think it all went well. Ed was really happy with the footage.

I’m yet to see the final edit which is about 9mins duration. I expect it will give some flavour of what I get up to while out on the hills. We battled low cloud, strong winds, cold temperatures, heavy rain yet we got to enjoy a fine sunset from Hard Knott despite the worst Mother Nature could throw at us.

terrybnd Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike
Another video still from Ed – this time me checking out a vantage point on Hard Knott.

The interest in my current project is really cranking up and I have to admit it’s all really rather unnerving. Films are a subjective matter to say the least, but I’m confident all the hard work and subject matter will come good and surprise many people – in a good way I hope.

The Scafells film has been a true labour of love for me this past year and there’s just three more months to go and filming will be completed – on schedule.

For the past 2 weeks or so I’ve been busy editing the summer and autumn chapters of the film and it’s been really hard sifting through the countless hours of footage I’ve collected and deciding what stays and what goes in the final cut. It’s been heartbreaking at times. Tough too, having to juggle the pace and structure of the sequences concerned along with ensuring I do my best not to do anyone a disservice.

I’m really keen to ensure that the people we meet and see in the film are equal in stature to the real star of the documentary – the Scafells.

I’ve took a real holistic approach to the film and it’s been a pleasure seeing it all come together on my PC.

Anyway, enough of that….

BBC One Inside Out (North West, North East and Cumbria), Monday 13th January at 7.30pm will be the first screening of the feature Ed Hanson had captured of me in action (including some clips from the film). Sadly, I’m going to miss it as I’m off back to the Lakes.

On BBC Radio Cumbria at 8.20am on Monday 13th January I’ll be doing a live interview too about working on the Scafells film. Something I’m a little anxious of. ‘Live’ doesn’t appeal to me. I wished it was a recorded interview.

Incidentally, both features will be available on BBC’s iPlayer afterwards.

Hopefully it all goes well and I don’t look or sound like an idiot! I was initially approached about all this malarkey late last summer – and in a roundabout way I wished I didn’t agree to it. But I guess it’s all good exposure for the documentary. A necessary evil and not something narcissistic on my part I have to add.

Leave a Reply

