iPlayer: ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike’ feature on BBC Inside Out

Feature about ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike’ shown last night in some regions of England on Inside Out.

Yesterday evening, I was relaxing in my study munching on junk food while editing a part of the summer chapter in my film ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike. So nothing out of the ordinary until something caught my eye.

A tab within my email browser was indicating I had received 200 emails in less than 5 minutes! I figured it was a severe and rare case of spam in truth – at least until I opened it up to have a look. From that point onwards my evening went all a bit chaotic.

Just moments earlier a feature about me working on the Scafells film had just been shown on BBC One’s Inside Out programme in the North West, North East and Cumbria regions of England. I was aware it was on but I couldn’t watch it. I figured I’d have a look once it was uploaded onto BBC’s iPlayer. Even so, the response I received from that showing was totally unexpected from my point of view. It truly caught me by surprise!

So, I’d like to take this opportunity to say to all those who got in touch with me….thank you all for your kind words. I’m truly humbled. I’m nothing special, just an ordinary bloke lucky to be doing a job he loves. Thank you too for the comments on my footage which was screened too. Just you wait until you see the final film.

I’ve completed editing the summer and autumn chapters of the film now and I’m really proud of the end result. The hard graft has paid off. But it’s not over yet. I still need to film more this winter and spring but the film is on track, and on schedule for it’s premiere in May at the Rheged Centre near Penrith with tickets on sale now HERE.

For those of you who supported me on the film via Indiegogo? I don’t want to tempt fate. But the way things are rollicking along, I wouldn’t be surprised if a copy of the film lands in your email inbox by mid-April.

I’d also like to add – and this may sound daft – that what you hear and see in the programme on Inside Out does contain some errors. One being my previous job I was no “computer expert”. I actually worked in a menial boring office job for an IT software company. Also it wasn’t 20 years ago I suffered from a suspected heart attack. It was 10 years ago.

Along with the above you’ll get glimpses of Chris Townsend and ‘The Cairngorms in Winter’ film and if you’re keen-eyed a glimpse of fellow outdoors blogger Alan Sloman’s Twitter account too!

Thanks again to you all. Your support means a great deal. Truly. And for now I must bid farewell as I’m due to head back to the Scafells this week.

You can view the feature here on BBC iPlayer and it kicks in at around the 20mins mark. I’ve been told it’s airing in the East Midlands too later this month.

Leave a Reply

