ShAFF 2014: ‘Caringorms in Winter with Chris Townsend’ and ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike’

Cairngorms in winter with Chris Townsend ShAFF
‘The Cairngorms in Winter with Chris Townsend’ on at ShAFF 2014.

Before I pack my gear and head off to some snow covered fells in the Western Lake District, I’m pleased to announce that ‘The Cairngorms in Winter with Chris Townsend’ has been chosen for the Sheffield Adventure Film Festival (ShAFF) which runs from 4th-6th April. It will be the festival edit being shown mind. Not the full film. I’ll be having a wander about at the event, so do pop over and say ‘Hello’ if you’re in the area. You’ll likely find me at a bar in truth. I’ll be looking forward to a wee break come the festival.

I recently learnt that the Cairngorms film has been the No1 Best selling film of 2013 on digital download website, Steep Edge! Both myself and Chris are extremely humbled by this news and wish to thank you all who had supported us on the project. I’m astonished it’s done so well given the number of top outdoor films that have been released this past year. And more so given it was the first time we had worked on or produced something like this.

Incidentally, the film came second in it’s category at the Kendal Mountain Festival last November with a commendation for it’s cinematography and Chris’ narration. Again something we were both extremely humbled by.

Finally, before I go I’d like to add that at this year’s ShAFF I’ll be screening an exclusive 18mins clip from ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike’. Something I hope doesn’t reveal too much to the scale and content within the film but also whets the audience’s appetite of what’s to come in May at the Rheged Centre.

Leave a Reply

