VIDEO MATINEE: Sneak peek at some night timelapse and David Powell-Thompson at Wasdale Head

Star trails from Hollow Stones, Scafell Pike, Lake District
Star trails from Hollow Stones on the Scafells.

It’s that time of the month where I reveal some very sneaky peeky peeks at what I’ve been working on filming for ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike’. A great deal of blood, sweat and tears has gone into producing this film and the end is finally in sight.

Tomorrow I head out on my penultimate trip/shoot for the documentary. The next two weeks or so will involve me filming legendary backpacker Chris Townsend as he wanders about the Scafells (no doubt battling the storms!) and sharing a wee gem of a place to truly feel out in the wilds when camping. Britain’s only soul to have climbed all 14 of the world’s highest peaks Alan Hinkes OBE will be sharing stories of climbs and an avalanche encounter on the Scafells too. And I’ll be hooking up with Wasdale Mountain Rescue again and much more.

So a busy trip is on the cards and no doubt I’ll return home battered, bruised and exhausted again.

Anyway, below are a couple of peeks from the film (always subject to change these edits I’ll admit). One features a glimpse at some of the many night timelapse scenes I’ve captured in the area. It’s not actually an edit from the film, it’s more a demonstration. These sort of shots require a great deal of patience, timing and care. Thankfully for me I’m yet to encounter any ruined attempts but no doubt that will change in the coming weeks ahead. At least a couple of the shots you’ll see involved me staying up until 4am!

Finally we have a glimpse of local Lakeland stalwart and all round good friend, producer and mountain guide David Powell-Thompson. David’s been an absolute star for me while working on the film. His support, enthusiasm has been overwhelming to say the least. I’m proud to count him as a good friend now – and drinking buddy too in the local pubs when I do eventually hit them!

Take care all and speak soon.

Leave a Reply

