"It’s a wrap!" ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike’

wild camping yewbarrow lake district
One of my last wild camps with company on Yewbarrow, Lake District.

That’s it. The end. All filming and editing is now complete for my baby, ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike’. It’s been one hell of a journey producing this, make no doubt. I couldn’t possibly tell anyone the number of wild camps I’ve done (and arguably endured!) while out and about the Scafells but I do have many, many stories to share with regards to the experience – good and bad that I’ll treasure for the rest of my life.

Alas, my body is thankful it’s all over now. But my heart is deeply saddened this chapter has come to a close. I’ve learnt a great deal about myself while working on this documentary on many levels that even I struggle to comprehend at times. And of course I’ve made some fantastic close friends too – some of which are folks I hold dear to my heart and miss dearly now that I’m back to urban living.

Alison O'Neill The Shepherdess lake district
The Shepherdess, Alison O’Neill with her loyal friend, Chum. The final shoot.

Despite returning home from my final shoots just a little over 2 weeks ago, it’s still been tremendously exhausting for me working on the film. With deadlines to meet, I’ve been sleeping on 4 hours or less of sleep a night! Working around the clock editing the film, sound mixing, cutting scenes and even deleting many has taken it’s toll on me.

I feel battered to put it bluntly and consequently I’m in no rush to produce something similar again any time soon – especially if I’m working alone. Crikey, the times I dreamed or wished I could have a crew or some other support with me on this feature.

Either way, it’s all finished now and I’ll be back to blogging as ‘normal’ in the days and weeks ahead.

DVDs are now in production for the film, digital copies have been sent out to Indiegogo backers and distributors, and the film is now ready for it’s premiere at Rheged and a screening at the Keswick Mountain Festival.

I’d like to thank all of you who’ve supported me on this project on here and elsewhere and particularly those of you who helped via Indiegogo. I’m truly humbled and I’m so pleased the feedback, press reviews and response to the film has been a hit.

In truth I’m immune to the film’s emotional pull now having seen every scene until I’m square-eyed and pale for the past few weeks. I do hope you enjoy it wherever and however you choose to see it.

Take care, thanks again and speak soon.

Alan Hinkes Mark Corr The Strands Inn and Brewery
Alan Hinkes and Mark Corr behind the bar at The Strands Inn and Brewery
Nether Wasdale.

Leave a Reply

