Back to see old friends in Lakeland

The Strands Inn and Brewery, Nether Wasdale Lake District
The Strands Inn and Brewery, Nether Wasdale. Pic taken by landlord Mark Corr.

If you’re about in the Lake District on Friday and fancy a top pint of ale or two, you may well bump into me at The Strands Inn and Brewery’s beer festival. After all the work I’ve been doing of late (let alone recent months) I’m really looking forward to catching up with good friends at this annual gathering in what I think is ‘the’ best pub in the Western Lake District (and I’ve tried a few on my travels).

Over the past few months I’ve spent many a happy hour recuperating from my trips and enjoying top company with both locals and tourists in this delightful Lakeland Inn. Mark and Lesley Corr who own and run the inn and microbrewery have become very good close friends of mine. Their hospitality and support while I’ve worked on my Scafells film has been immense. Word’s cannot describe how much their help has meant to me.

Alan Hinkes Mark Corr The Strands Inn and Brewery Lake District
Alan Hinkes behind the bar with Mark Corr sampling some of his microbrews.

The local farmers and residents are top folks too. And I always enjoy seeing the delight on tourist’s faces when they venture off the beaten path and think outside the box to chance upon The Strands. A hidden gem of a pub nestled amongst some low-lying hills and woods in the Wasdale Valley circled by two main thoroughfares that lead to Wasdale Head. The view outside is a corker as you admire the white washed old buildings while the nearby Screes by Wastwater loom overhead.

Julius Manduell who runs a nearby farm also manages a campsite there too – Church Stile Farm. Another great place and discreet addition to Nether Wasdale.

So many boxes are ticked you can see why I’ve fallen for the charms of this pretty Lakeland village. And you may well have guessed that the pub is a local haunt (or is now for some!) for many of the famous faces that feature in ‘Life of a Mountain: Scafell Pike’.

Anyway, I must dash. I’ve got kit to pack. For the next couple of weeks I’ll be back in the Lakes attending my film’s premiere (which I’m really excited about now) and a screening at the Keswick Mountain Festival – amongst other things. Take care and speak soon. The Strands’ beer festival beckons!

The Strands Inn Lake District Beer Festival
Pop along and try some top local ales!

Leave a Reply

