Heavenly wintry scenes in the Lake District

castlerigg lake district
Castlerigg Fell and beyond from Latrigg.

Last weekend I popped up to Keswick, Lake District to attend a DVD signing with Mark Richards in the local Rohan store for ‘Helvellyn with Mark Richards’. Before and after the event, I took the opportunity to get to grips with a new camera I’ve recently become the owner of, the Sony A7S.  It’s a remarkable device with incredible low light capabilities and fantastic video too.

I’ve recently been testing and pushing the A7S to it’s limits out on the fells of the Lake District and I’m pleased to say that despite some minor quibbles I’m extremely impressed with this mirrorless full frame camera.

Arriving late on Friday evening to clear skies, and a bright moon I made a dash to Castlerigg Stone Circle on the outskirts of Keswick, keen to see how far I could push the camera’s low light features and also do a wee recce for some shots I have in mind for a future video production.

Wandering around the stone circle under moonlight was rather eery to say the least. And despite a hard frost and some snow up on the highest fells, I felt warm and comfortable as I crouched, crawled and strolled about seeking vantage points amongst an ethereal black and white world.

Before returning home on Sunday, I headed up to Latrigg which overlooks Keswick hoping to capture some more photos of the area. The winds were ferocious at times as a new front waded in from the west and coupled with biting cold temperatures it made things tricky trying to keep my camera steady. The neutral density filters I had to balance the exposure between the sky and foreground were acting as sails at times! They say patience is a virtue, and I’m pleased I lingered on the side of the fell for some considerable time – just when I was about to give up, a break in the clouds moved on over towards the east encouraging the sun to cast it’s celestial rays on to the landscape below.

It was truly breathtaking and reminded me how much of a thrill I get spending time outdoors chasing those special scenes on camera. I’ve been spending a lot of time at home for the past few weeks, and this was just the tonic I needed.

All done, I headed back home and am already looking forward to returning to the Lakes soon for several nights camping on the fells. Not for work, but for pleasure – no cumbersome heavy pack laden with video gear. Something I’m very much looking forward to before the festivities of Christmas begin.

I’ll also be attending another DVD and print signing in Cotswold Outdoor, Keswick on Saturday 13th December from 11am-3pm with my good friend and TV researcher David Powell-Thompson. So do come along and say hello!

castlerigg stone circle lake district
Looking towards Helvellyn from Castlerigg Stone Circle.

castlerigg stone circle and blencathra
Blencathra and the stone circle under moonlight.

castlerigg stone circle under moonlight
The stone circle and Helvellyn range – you can just make out Orion in the sky above.

helvellyn and snow from castlerigg
Dusting of snow on Helvellyn.

rohan keswick
Attending the signing session in Rohan, Keswick.

My recent Lakeland DVDs on sale in Cotswold Outdoor, Keswick. Available to buy online from www.stridingedge.com

borrowdale from latrigg
A moody ‘Jaws of Borrowdale’ as seen from Latrigg.

catbells and keswick
Winter sun rays caressing Catbells by Derwentwater.

keswick from latrigg
Breaking sun over Keswick and Derwentwater.

dodds from latrigg
Helvellyn, The Dodds and High Rigg.

breaking sun and bleaberry fell
Bleaberry Fell being torch beamed by the winter sun.

keswick lake district national park
Keswick enjoying some of the sun too.

sun rays on castlerigg
The colour and contrast of the ever changing views was breathtaking.

cotswold outdoor keswick
See you there? I’ll be back in Keswick later this week signing DVDs and prints with David Powell-Thompson.

Leave a Reply

