The adventure ends – ‘Life of a Mountain: Blencathra’

Winter dawn Blencathra from High Rigg ©Terry Abraham
Blencathra from High Rigg at dawn on the penultimate day of my filming.

That’s it! Game over! A few weeks ago I completed all filming for my Blencathra documentary and last weekend I finished editing too. “The adventure is over” as my wife reminded me.

It doesn’t feel like an adventure of course, it’s been a tough project to work on and in many respects much harder than when I produced my Scafell Pike film. Granted Blencathra is a much more accessible fell but it’s a tricky one to capture on camera. Be it due to the ever-changing views or how it appears through the seasons. I’ve lost count how many times I’ve ascended ole Saddleback.

Needless to say I’ve been acutely aware of the high expectations on me after the success of Scafell Pike. That small dark cloud has constantly loomed over me, which is no bad thing. It’s ensured it’s kept me on my toes and focused on doing the very best I can with the tools at my disposal.

Of course Blencathra is one of those iconic hills that receives a great deal of affection from both locals and visitors alike. Aesthetically it’s one of the most unique humps of rock in the UK.

All said, copies of the completed documentary have gone out for press review and to the DVD printers. Those who so kindly supported me on the project via Indiegogo received their digital HD version of the film this week. Now all I can do is sit back and wait.

ADVERT-web
Available on DVD during the premiere weekend.

I’m immensely proud of the end result. I was only ever about 65% happy with Scafell Pike; frustrated by a lack of time and funds, average filming kit and a lack of experience when it came to certain aspects of the craft of filmmaking. But with Blencathra I’m 90% happy. It’s much closer to what I’ve always envisaged for this ‘Life of a Mountain’ series and many of the ideas I had for Scafell Pike I’ve executed in this latest episode.

There’s more to come! The finale for my planned trilogy will be Helvellyn which I hope to begin producing in 2017 for a 2018 release. I have some big ideas to send the trilogy off with a bang, some of which will take some considerable advanced planning. But I’m game and willing! I’m bloody-minded if anything. I’m already looking ahead to next year.

In the meantime, I do hope those of you who supported me on Indiegogo enjoy the end result and those of you who’ll be attending the film’s premiere and other screenings in May will be pleased too.

It’s been another labour of love and a period of time in my life I’ll never forget.

Aurora over camp on Bannerdale Crags ©Terry Abraham
Nemo Blaze 2P on Bannerdale Crags and aurora.

The icing on the cake was getting to enjoy a peek at the northern lights from a camp on Bannerdale Crags recently. I was up there with minimal kit chasing a dawn scene of Sharp Edge covered in snow at dawn. I happened to be testing a tent from Nemo and I woke for a call of nature late evening.

I turned around and was marvelling at the wonderful night sky. So I grabbed my camera to take a snap of the tent under the stars. To my surprise, the aurora showed up in the photo. Initially I thought there was a fault with my camera.

Sharp Edge in winter from Bannerdale Crags ©Terry Abraham
Sharp Edge at dawn from Bannerdale Crags.

I look back now and that night just about sums it up for me working on Blencathra. The awe, the beauty, the secrets and constant surprises. I wouldn’t go as far as Alfred Wainwright to describe it as the “mountaineers mountain”, it isn’t. There’s better in the Lakes for that title. But it most definitely is deserving of it’s iconic status and a hill I’m not ashamed to admit I’ve fallen head over heels for this past year. So much so, I’m heading back for leisure next week!

Rheged Sharp Edge winter
There’s not many seats left during the premiere weekend at the Rheged Centre.
9 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Terry,

    Sincere congratulations! A fantastic achievement. I hope that the premiere goes perfectly and sales do likewise.

    When’s the release date?

    Cheers

    Jon

    >

    Like

    1. Thanks Jon. 14th May is the premiere upon which the DVDs will then be available to buy.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ian Tupman says:

    Love it, love it love it Terry!! The film has exceeded all my expectations. My only regret is that I can’t be at the premiere in May to see it on the big screen. Everyone going to those viewings is in for a real treat.
    I’ll be in the Lakes from mid-September until December this year and if I get the opportunity I would like to buy you a pint or three. Congratulations Terry, you have created a masterpiece.

    Like

    1. Ha! Thanks Ian! I’m pleased you liked it. Aye I’m really looking forward to seeing it on the big screen too. Hence I told backers not to reveal spoilers.

      It’s been a tough project this one so I’m thrilled at the response from those who’ve seen it so far. Made all the blood, sweat and tears worth the while.

      Like

  3. andyd294 says:

    I loved the Sca Fell programme and can’t wait to see this one in May with my Dad. Brilliant!

    Like

    1. Thanks mate. I’m sure you’ll love it. I’m over the moon with the response to it so far from backers on Indiegogo and press reviews.

      Like

  4. Ian Tupman says:

    Terry,
    I have just watched it for the third time and I have to say it gets better and better. You really have nailed it with this one mate. Congratulations once again.

    Like

    1. Ha! Thanks mate. Gotta pull the rabbit out the hat and then some for Helvellyn eh 😉

      Like

      1. Ian Tupman says:

        I’m sure you will Terry. And as one of your Indiegogo supporters, I would just like to wish you (and your wife) all the best for the premieres this weekend. Enjoy the well-deserved accolades.

        Like

Leave a Reply

